Book Review: Frostbite (The Dragonian Series, 3) by Adrienne Woods


Frostbite1

Rating5

Title: Frostbite

Series: The Dragonian Series, book 3

Genre: Novel

Author: Adrienne Woods

Store: Amazon

Format: Kindle

Cover: ★★★★★ The third novel has a beautiful cover, as well.

“I’d paralyzed their lives, their futures. I was like ice, like frost freezing their hopes and dreams. I was the living embodiment of frostbite.”
Adrienne Woods, Frostbite

(I noticed that the series title is missing. Maybe it was intentional.)


This is my favorite book in this series. Finally, we get some major questions answered. I did predict some of them, but I liked the way everything came together. I think most of the answers from the first 2 books are answered in this novel; maybe one or two left. Now, we have new questions.

Synopsis: Losing Lucian McKenzie, the Prince of her heart and discovering her true identity has made Elena Watkins’ life almost unbearable. However, new trials will test the 17 year-old’s strength and push her to limits she didn’t think were possible.
Only a mysterious offer from Blake Leaf, the Rubicon and a dragon predestined for evil, reveals there may be a light at the end of Elena’s dark tunnel.
With the life she thought she knew crashing down around her, Elena will have to face a monumental decision about the fate of Paegeia. She can either make peace with Blake’s demands or try once again to unravel the Queen’s secrets that lie deep within her dragon, Tanya La Frey’s, heart.

Characters: *Elena. Miss Elena does not handle very well the death of her boyfriend, Lucian. I can understand that she is sad, and depressed. I don’t think anyway will be too chipper after someone close to them dies. Elena also blames herself for his death, since Lucian died saving her. However, in most of the chapters, Elena is a pain in the ass for everyone. She starts treating her best friends poorly, and she distance herself from them. Elena’s attitude has an explanation, though. Since Blake is her dragon, the connection between them is very strong. Therefore, the Rubicon’s dark thoughts influence Elena.  However, that does not make it less annoying. Finally, Elena decides to find some answers, and what she discovers will change her life forever. She goes into the “Forbidden Forests”, and she finds Catherina’s dragon, Tanya. Tanya tells her the truth about her heritage, and why she managed to transform into a dragon, even though she has the Dragonian’s mark on her body. When she comes back, she challenges Blake, the Rubicon, and she finally ascends. During ascension, she meets her father. I like Elena toward the end of the novel. She finally grows some backbone, she goes after what she wants, and fights for her rights.

*Cara. A new character, who becomes an important key to the story. I like her a lot. She is fun, stands her ground, and she is very kind. She and Elena developed a strong bond. Too bad Elena had to let her go.

*Blake. Hot and cold. One moment he is nice, the next he is an ass. He needs to get his priorities straight, and stop being such a baby. He does not want to become evil, but he will not accept Elena’s help either. Ugh. However, it was nice to see more of Blake in this novel. He is a very interesting character, and I can’t wait to see his growth, for better or worst.

Plot: In my opinion, the book was easy to read, and it was fast-paced. The novel has a proper ending, which is good. There are many twists and turns.

Romance: Not much romance in this novel. Sammy and Becky are with their boyfriends, and both of them seem to be happy. Elena spends more time with Blake, and she starts to enjoy his company. At one point, she declares her love for him: “I love you, Blake!”. And of course, Blake reacted poorly; what an ass.

It seems that there will be some romance between Blake and Elena. I am curious to see how the author will handle it, especially since I can’t see it. I can’t imagine Blake and Elena in love, but I will try to keep an open mind.

General thoughts: As I said, this is my favorite book in this series. Elena’s new world is developed further, and we get to know more about King Albert, and Queen Catherina. Finally, everything makes sense. I like the fact that Elena matures, and I also love Cara. The scenes in her [Cara] point of view were really nice. I was surprised to see that nobody bothered to tell Elena their first suspicions. I mean, she does look like her father. I also liked the fact that this novel was focused less on the romance, and more on the action. My favorite scene was when Elena claimed Blake. It was a glimpse of what Elena could become. Overall, great book. I am eager to read the next book in the series.


Laura2

Let's disscuss!

