Blog

7 Popular Books I Have Not Read


to kill a mockingbird

Yes, I have not read To Kill A Mockingbird by Lee, even though many people love it. Maybe I will, some day.

fallen

Popular series. I’ve heard about it for a while now. I think I knew about it since it came out. However, the synopsis did not attract me. I’m not a bit fan of books about angels in general, and star-crossed lovers.

the host

I received The Host as a gift for my birthday. It’s been a couple of years since I own it, but I didn’t get the change to read it. I always say someday I’ll read it. The synopsis did not seem very interesting (for me). What do you say? Should I give it a try?

hunger games

The Hunger Games, by Collins; a very popular series as well. I wanted to read it for a while now. Based on the synopsis, and the review, I am not sure if this series is for me.

cinder

Cinder, by M. Meyer. I’ve heard of it, read the synopsis, and I forgot about it. Olivia’s review reminded me of it. I still don’t think I’m going to read it, though.

the book of negros

I know there is also a TV-show based on this book. It does seem interesting enough. How is it, guys? Any thoughts about this novel?

city of bones

The Mortal Instruments. To be honest, based on the synopsis, this series does not seem very interesting. I’m still deciding if I should add it on my to be read list.


Do you think I should read any of these books? All of them? Let me know in the comments below. 🙂

~L.

14 thoughts on “7 Popular Books I Have Not Read”

        1. I don’t mind novels that have romance. The way it is portrayed can be a problem. And from what I’ve read, THG has some romance, more like a sub-plot…
          Anyway, maybe I’ll find out for myself. 🙂

          Like

  1. I really enjoyed the host, and would recommend that if you like minimal sci-fi and major romance.
    The Hunger Games – in my opinion – is a must read of this generation, just like Harry Potter. Actually, I’m surprised you went this long without reading it! It’s not necessary you do, but it is really enjoyable and gripping.
    I would also, personally, recommend The Mortal Instruments. It’s my favourite fantasy series because it’s more urban fantasy, and the world is really interesting. If you like the idea, but are up for something a little more exotic – for lack of a better word – I’d read The Infernal Devices first, for that is set in Victorian England and so has a little more interest about it that modern day New York in TMI.
    Frankly, I didn’t enjoy To Kill a Mockingbird as much as the majority of people, and probably wouldn’t recommend to someone my age. However, you’re older than me (I believe), and so may enjoy it a little more. Generally, I found it rather difficult to follow, as well as being painfully slow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your input. I usually don’t care about “must reads”. But I can’t deny that I am a little bit curious, since everybody talked highly about it.
      I didn’t read The Host because I am not a big fan on S.Meyer writing, and the synopsis didn’t made me want to read the book either.
      I think I will try The Mortal Instruments first. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Nope. I haven’t. I bought the Mortal Instruments, but I didn’t read it yet. My TBR pile is huge. The Hunger Games I’m not planning on reading; not a fan of the genre.
      The Host – well, there is no sequel, so the series is left in the air. And it’s too big.
      However, I will give Cinder a try and I’ll def. read To Kill A mockingbird. Hehe

      Liked by 1 person

Let's disscuss!

