Imdalind Series, Review, Reviews

Book Review: Moonbreeze (The Dragonian Series #4), by Adrienne Woods


As promised, today I’ll review Moonbreeze. I’ve read it at the end of September, beginning of October. Since the novel was suppose to be released in November, I wanted to review it around the publication date, but it was released earlier. I also needed some time to think about it.

Rating: 3.6/5


Title:
Moonbreeze
Series: The Dragonian Series, #4
Author: Adrienne Woods
Pages: 713
Parts: 4
Published: October 15, 2015
Genre: NA, fantasy
Warning: Sensitive Content

Description

PLEASE NOTE: SENSITIVE CONTENT END OF PART TWO. Book’s release date will be 20TH OF OCTOBER 2015.

The life or a star-studded royal has not been kind to eighteen-year-old Elena Watkins. With a Council breathing down her n

eck and a dragon that refuses to accept her as his rider, she must convince

everyone that she is ready to rule Paegeia like her parents before her. But she has made a promise to her father, King Albert, that she will not go looking for him and free the people of Etan. Elena has promised to never truly fulfill her destiny.

However, situations out of her control will soon force her to confront herself and the evil that seeks to destroy her. Elena must look inside of herself to discover if she can defeat the approaching darkness, be accepted by the people of Paegeia, bring her dragon back to light and fulfill the destiny written in their stars.

Goodreads | Amazon

My Review

This review will contain some spoilers, but I’ll put a warning before them, and I’ll write them in white. This way, if you don’t want to read the spoilers, you’ll only see a white space. If you do want to read them, you’ll need to select the white sections, and you’ll be able to see them.

After I’ve read the book, at first I was pretty happy about it. I’ve been waiting for months for this book, so I was happy that I finally got to read it. However, after I had time to think about it more, I started to have mixed feelings. In this review I will mention what I didn’t like, and what I did like; I’ll divide each section in pros and cons.

Plot – 3.8

The main plot of this series is fighting and defeating Gorian, and calibrating Edan; at least in theory. The series also has some sub-plots, obviously, and the main one is Elena and Blake becoming an item; Blake denting and becoming Elena’s dragon and partner. This sub-plot is also connected with the main plot, since Blake can defeat Gorian only if he dents with the last king’s princess, and together they will be undefeated – that was the prophecy in Firebolt.

The book has chapters from Elena’s perspective, but also from Blake’s point of view. This was the first novel in this series that had two point of views.

Pros

When it comes to Edan, the plot moves forward. Finally! Elena manages to get pass the creepers, and she even lives in Edan for weeks, if not months. Therefore, she gets a full inside knowledge of how things work and function in Edan. After Elena escapes from Edan, she goes back with Blake, saves some people, and some double-agents are planted in Edan.

Blake finally dents, and wants to be by Elena’s side. He goes from evil Blake, to nice Blake.

Elena accepts her role as a princess, and grows some backbone. She stands up to the Council and the Ancients.

The reunion between the people sucked in Edan, and their loved ones were heart touching. I loved the scene between Constance and her daughter. ❤

Cons

There was a sub-plot introduced: the Rubicon’s spheres. Blake manages to find several spheres, but their importance is not explained, and the sub-plot is abandoned. I assume they will be mentioned again in Starlight, but since I’ve read many scenes where Blake finds his spheres, I expected to get more information about them in this book. They weren’t mentioned just in passing, as a introduction for the next novel. For some reason, Elena wasn’t very interesting in this spheres, and didn’t inspected them. Neither did Blake.

As I said, Elena gets pass the creepers. I’m still confused about it. The only explanation for it was Elena’s royal blood, which is not good enough. Maybe there will be a better explanation in Starlight, but since Elena gets pass the creepers several times in this novels, I would’ve expected more information in this book.

I still don’t understand the dent thing. Blake explained what happened with him, but very briefly. Elena doesn’t get it either, and since most chapters are from hers perspective, I don’t understand it either. It does look like Blake did a 180 change for no real reason.

The relationship between Elena and Blake doesn’t move forward. I will go back to it more when I talk about characters, and romance.

The darkness is not explained. Blake was evil because of the darkness – that was the explanation for Blake’s behavior in 3 books. Most dragons become evil because of the darkness, and they need a beating to come back to the good side. What’s this darkness? Why does it affect the dragons, and not humans? How does it affect them? Why do they need a beating to become good again, and not something else? What’s the connection between the darkness and Gorian? From the way Blake’s situation was explained, it appeared that Blake was somehow possessed by this darkness, and he wasn’t acting out free will. Is there evil in our world? Yes. People make choices: good or bad. This choices tell us if they’re bad or good. They also affect other people/nature in a good or bad way. There are some people, and maybe forces, that can influence a person to do good or evil, but the final choice lays with that person. Since this does not seems to be the case with Blake and other dragons, this darkness needs to be explained, not just mentioned.

For the plot, I give a rating of 3.8/5.

Characters – 3.3

Pros

Elena stands up to the Ancients, and accepts her role as a princess. She does all that because she wants to save some people from Edan. That was nice to see.

She also lets herself get caught in order to protect several children.

Blake is my favorite character in this book, and the chapters from his perspective are the best. Even when he was an ass, he had a backbone. I actually liked the fact that he turned down Elena’s attempt to buy him.

Sammy and Becky seem to be good friends. While Becky was a little bit harsh, her heart was in the right place. When Elena was hiding and sleeping all day, Becky tried to help her start dealing with her problems.

New characters are introduced. Part 2 of Moonbreeze has completely new characters, except for Elena. Most of them seemed lovely.

Cons

Sammy, Becky and the others. They promised something to Blake, and they get mad that Elena doesn’t see it their way. I mean, how can she when she doesn’t know? They would not explain it to her, since they gave their word they’ll not say anything, but they expect Elena to go with the program.

Blake. I didn’t like how he treated Tabitha. Yes, Tabitha is portrayed as a bitch, but this girl loves Blake. She’s been with Blake for more than a year. I would’ve liked to see Blake explain things to Tabitha, and end things nicely. It looked like Blake just cast her aside after he dented, and started to fight for Elena’s affections.

Elena. Where to begin? I did not like Elena in this book. Did I feel bad for her? Yes. Did I understand some of her feelings? Yes. Was I sympathetic to her situation?Yes.

After four books I expected Elena to grow more, to be more mature, more ambitious, more hard working. It’s like we’re back to Firebolt. We’re back to insecure, fragile, scared Elena who doesn’t trust anyone.  She is selfish, stubborn, naive, and sometimes kinda dumb. Maybe in Starlight I’ll see why it was necessary for her to get back where she started, but so far I can’t understand it.

On one hand, she demands to have more power and responsibilities, because she wants to make decisions as well, since she’s a princess. Then she makes a decision  out of selfishness, for her own benefit. Her decision affected many people, and some institutes had to close down. Then, when she is informed that her project failed right after it was lunched, and that it would be terminated, she doesn’t understand why and she acts like a child. Clearly, she wasn’t ready to be a real princess. It wouldn’t have been that bad if she would’ve accepted her wrong doings. But no, others are mean and don’t give her chances.

She thinks she killed Blake, and her first instinct is to run away. It was explained that since she was on the run with her father all the time, it was her first response to trouble; her body took over her mind. Except, she and her father were running away from danger, to not be killed. Elena runs away from her own responsibilities, her own wrong doings. Alright, lets assume that was indeed her deface mechanism and it is completely fine. After she ended up in Etan, she is still afraid that the council is after her, and she lives with the guilt of killing Blake. She fakes her own identity, she makes up lies, and she doesn’t tell the truth not even after she saw that those people were good, kind, and trustworthy. I mean, they put themselves in danger in order to protect her. That wasn’t an automatic response anymore. Those were the decisions she made deliberately. Later on, after she ends up back to the normal world, when she sees that she’s not in Etan anymore, she wants to run away again!

Now, since Elena pretends to be someone else, she doesn’t investigate where she ended up. She sees something is wrong and weird, but she can’t ask questions because her cover will be blown.

Her reaction after she find out Blake was alive: annoying. Elena spends weeks running away and thinking she killed Blake, and when she sees him, she accuse him for not finding her. Elena does not stop to listen, to hear Blake or the others out, she doesn’t try to understand Blake, but she’s 100% sure that Blake is an ass who didn’t bother to find her. Basically she blames Blake for what happened to her, even though she kinda put herself in that situation –  I’m not talking about the sensitive scene; I’m referring to her decision to run away and not listen.

Elena doesn’t believe Blake changed, and she demands to know what the dent thing was. Her great-great-great- …-uncle told her that Blake didn’t hear her thoughts because she said Blake’s free, and rejected Blake as a dragon. Blake told her that she’ll explain to her when their mind connection is back. What does Elena do? Nothing. I would’ve expected her to try and repair their connection, since she wanted to know about the dent so badly.

How come Elena knows how to do magic and control her powers? Blake didn’t let her have access to her powers, not even during classes. But somehow, she managed to use them just fine. In book 3 she could use her powers when she was Cara, and when she got really angry. This one wasn’t a big issues, but it kinda came out of the blue. Or maybe I forgot some details.

Elena does stand up to the Ancients and Council, and they seemed to be backing off. My question is, why didn’t she do that earlier? It didn’t seemed that hard. All she had to do was accept who she is, and give them a lecture. I suppose Elena accepting her role as a princess was the real problem, not the Council.

Overall, I wasn’t very impress with her. I expected more character development, and for Elena to go forward, to evolve.

Romance – 3.5

Not much to say, since Elena and Blake are not together. To be honest, I expected more. Elena is being stubborn, and doesn’t want to give Blake a chance to explain himself. She also doesn’t want to admit that she has feelings for him. Elena, in general, is bad at communicating and listening to people.

They do have some nice moments together, but that’s about it.

Blake is being nice about it. He tries his best.

Overall, the romance is kinda meh. It also feels like it is a little bit stretch out. At first I was afraid it would be rushed or instant, but now I’m complaining that it doesn’t move forward. I don’t want  it to be rushed, I don’t want it to be stretch out; I want to see the relationship between Blake and Elena progress naturally, and with a little bit more maturity.

Blake and Elena danced around each other for 2 books. Based on Starlight’s first chapter, they will do the same in the final novel as well; at least in the beginning.

As Blake said in the first chapter of Starlight, we’re back to where we started.

Part 2

I want to talk about the sensitive part of this book. I decided to comment on it separately. This part will contain spoilers written in white.

Basically, Elena gets raped. Not once, not twice, but multiple times, by 7 guys. I would’ve said she gets raped 7 times, but from what I understood, some guys had more than one turn.

Now. I’ve read books where the protagonist gets raped or sexually assaulted. I am not bothered by rape scenes if they’re written with tact. However, I am annoyed by Literary Rape. I talked about this before. For short, literary rape is when the protagonist, usually a women, gets raped  to move the plot forward, and to add some depth to the character. You can replaced the rape scene with any other violent scene, and it would not make a major difference to the plot. It is based on the mentality that rape is the most traumatic thing that can happen to a women.

In my version, the rape scene was always mentioned as assault. Elena would say something like “I have nightmares due to my assault”. Assault it’s not the same thing as rape. Sexual assault is one thing, rape is another. Even the law makes that difference. This makes me believe that the author, while she might’ve had good intentions, was not ready to tackle this subject.

I am not sure that this scene was necessary in terms of plot and character development. Sure, it added more drama and another obstacle between Elena and Blake, but it could’ve been easily replaced by another scene. For example, Elena being beaten, Elena being tortured, Elena being thrown in prison and starved, and so on. All of this events would’ve traumatized someone. Actually, her stay in Etan would’ve been enough trauma.

Another thing. One of her rapists looked exactly like Blake. Again, was that necessary?

Now, after the rape scene, Elena acts like any normal rape victim. Her feelings, nightmares, and depression were to be expected.

The problem is that because of this, Elena’s development as a character doesn’t  move forward. And this is not a series about this kind of stuff; it’s not the plot.

Another sensitive scene. This one was not labeled as such, but for some of us it is. Or at least it makes as feel weird while reading about it.

Elena’s master asked her to pretend she’s his mistress while he’s dating his boyfriend. What bothered me was that Elena had to stay in the same room while her master had sex, and pretend to be the one having sex. So, Elena moans and stuff, while her master has sex with his boyfriend. Was that necessary? Really? How come Elena wasn’t more disturbed by this, and accepted it pretty fast? Sorry, not sorry, I didn’t like that part. Nope.

Overall

While there are some developments to the plot, the book seems more like a filler. In 700 pages I expected more development when it comes to the Etan plot, romance, and the protagonist. While Blake moved forward, Elena moved back; and this is Elena’s story. Don’t get me wrong, it is still a nice book and it does add more to the series.

Looking forward to Starlight.

I give this book a rating of 3.6/5. In Goodreads rating that would be 4 starts (rounding up).

How about you? Did you like Moonbreeze? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Moonbreeze (The Dragonian Series #4), by Adrienne Woods”

  1. I agree with a lot of points you made above. Like you, I liked the book and at the same time it was frustrating cuz it just did not move forward. Seemed like the 500 pages out of 700 we were just dancing around back and forth.

    I also felt that one major sensitive scene was unnecessary. It could have been easily replaced with other traumatic experiences causing equal amount of depth/drama to the plot.

    Elena, was frustrating again. I agree. But, I expected that after what had happened to her the emotions and all were a given. I totally get why she is afraid to commit to Blake – cuz he was a douche to her for 3 books not to mention, he threw Tabitha in Elena’s face all the time. And, she sees a total change in him so she is skeptical. I get that. However, she is also not ready to listen and talk it out with him.

    Etan entry, i thought it was mentioned cuz her Queen Catherine help built that Creeper thing? Since her parents built that so she has that gene I guess. I could be wrong??

    Blake’s POV, while I loved them I also felt they were unsatisfying overall. It just left me with more questions cuz his emotions were just not there completely. It felt more abrupt.

    Dent, I am still confused as well.

    Another thing that confused me – Blake protecting Elena via Herbert/Jako when she was in the human world. It was Blake/Rubicon all along that sent Jako messages to run away hence, they were always on the run. This means Blake ALWAYS knew Elena was his rider without a doubt (even if we were told that a dragon always knows). So, when Elena entered Dragonia, he was aware who she was, technically speaking. All along. Then, in one of the books (maybe #2), Lucian says that when she entered Dragonia, Blake seemed like a changed person briefly and when Lucian asked him what happened or something like that…Blake says – he felt hope. But, he still treated her like shit cuz of “darkness” he was fighting. But, he was apparently always protecting her in some form or another. Even after being claimed he fought for SO long. Then why treat Elena like crap for SO long? Not to mention, why did the Viden tell Blake there is NO hope and he believed her. Even though he knew who Elena was all along?

    Also, when Blake wakes up from Denting after 2 weeks — he is still thinking about Jako and dragons after Elena and Jako cuz he is a bit disoriented. Q — Who were these dragons after them? If nobody knew Elena existed all this time…how did these people/dragons find out? Cuz, if I remember correctly, Goran doesn’t know about her until she faces him to get that sword from her. Right??

    I am definitely curious what happened to the mind connection?? Conveniently, it is broken and we don’t know why? And, now we have a new prophecy to deal with regarding Blake and Elena.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. About the sensitive scene. I don’t hate books that talk about this subject, I just don’t like it when it’s done poorly, or as a filler. I mean, the author didn’t want to use the proper word for it, probably because she didn’t like it, which tells me she wasn’t ready to talk about this kind of subjects.

      I think I liked Blake’s perspective so much because I didn’t like Elena’s. I understand what happened to her, and why she felt that way, but since I think that scene was unnecessary, my annoyances increased. That scene is also one of the main reasons why the book doesn’t move forward. Instead we get Elena moping and being depressed. No, I stand by my opinion – Elena didn’t grow as a character, she went right back where she started. She’s still scared, whiny, stubborn, naive . . .I understood it in Firebolt, but come on, we’re at book 4. Also, since she didn’t grew up in that world, and she didn’t bother to study and find out more – based on the novels- how come she’s so quick to judge their customs, bonds, magic and all that? That’s why I’m a little bit pissed that she’s so quick to cast aside Blake’s opinion about the dent.

      And yea, the dent is still a mystery.

      I did ask the author why she wrote that sensitive scene. I asked something like, was it to show how dark/evil Etan was, to be another obstacle between Blake and Elena ? She said that all these, and mostly to show how darkness acts. That is one thing to say there is darkness, and another one to portray it. I don’t know about you, but there were a lot of disturbing scenes in Etan that were enough to show the darkness (the children spectacle, the code thingy, what happened with girls in Etan etc.)

      Oh, the connection thingy. Elena’s great-great- etc.- uncle told her, after a council meeting, that the connection is broken because Elena told Blake he’s free. She said that right before their first kiss. But it was mentioned once, and then never brought up again. I expected Elena to tell Blake why their connection was broken or something. Or try to fix it. Again, it needs more development.

      The creepers. Yes, Elena can get pass them because her mother or father created them. In other words, because of her blood. I do want a better/more developed explanation, thou. “Elena was the first person to pass the creepers because of her blood” seems a little bit . . . lazy.

      Yes, I forgot to mention the Blake protecting Elena while she was still with Jacko. I forgot about it when I wrote the review. Again, it was brought up briefly, never really explained. So Blake knew Elena was his rider, knew Elena’s true identity, and he didn’t say anything because he was dark. On the other hand, he was moping about not wanting to become dark and evil. But how did he find out about her? Nobody knew about Elena. Why didn’t he say anything to Lucian’s parents or something.

      Ah, I think it was mentioned in Firebolt that those dragons were some bad guys who wanted to kill Elena for some reason. I forgot about it. It was explained briefly.

      Well, you know why he treated Elena so bad for so long. Because of the darkness. >.< What the hell is that darkness? Do you understand it? Any theories? Cuz I don’t have any.

      Like

Let's disscuss!

