Competition, Reviews, Writing

Competition: Rules


I didn’t know if I will continue with this, but I decided that it cannot hurt.

These are the rules:

  1. Follow my blog
  2.  Your story should be around 1,000 – 1,500 words. Now, I will not ‘disqualify’ anyone for writing more than 1,500 words; it’s more like a guideline, than a rule.
  3. Link your post with this one via pingback, so I can check it out right away. Remember, pingback works when you link your post with another one, not with the Home page, since the reason why I ask you to link it to this post.
  4. Deadline: February, 11 2015.

Theme: Fairy tale retelling.

In other words, write a modern adaptation of one of the following classic fairy-tales:

Hans Christian Andersen

  • The Little Mermaid
  • The Snow Queen
  • The Little Match Girl

Grimm Brothers

  • Rapunzel
  • The Girl Without Hands
  • Little Red Riding Hood

I’ll give you an example. If you were to adapt The Ugly Duckling, you could retell the story so that the ugly duckling doesn’t need to become beautiful to gain acceptance. Maybe the duck is a fast swimmer and competes in all sorts of competitions. Or you could retell the story in such a way that you poke fun at our modern, psychological approach to everything; the duck wants to wear a bag over its head, and requires psychotherapy.

How you’re going to retell the tale you’ve chose, is entirely up to you. Just make sure you proofread it, and that the language and the material reflects a fairy tale. You know, fairy tales have certain characteristics, such as good vs evil, heroic tales, hero/heroine, adventure, drama, triumph of good over evil, fantasy and so on.

I’m really curious to see what you guys will come up with. Remember, you have 1 month to write it.

Good luck, and happy writing!


To keep up with my blog and reading, you can find me on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and Bloglovin’.

15 thoughts on “Competition: Rules”

    1. No. It’s fairy tale retelling -classic to modern-, and Disney does not follow the original plot – in a way, their version is already a retelling.
      You can find the story on the internet, since they’re public domain. And they’re quite short. (if that was one of the concerns).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you for leaving me a comment asking if I’d like to take part! I hadn’t been on much but I’ve just seen it 🙂 If I’m right there are four days left so if I can think of something I’d love to give it a go 🙂 (I think you said February 2015 though? I didn’t think I’d been gone THAT long! 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

Let's disscuss!

