OwlCrate, Reviews

Owl Crate Unboxing & Info|Lala


Hello everyone.

After I watched some Youtube Videos, I decided to subscribe to Owl Crate Monthly Box. I’ve found the idea of a monthly surprise book to be very entertaining. I am not sure for how long I’ll keep the subscription, due its cost, but I will do a post about each box that I will receive.

In case you don’t know what Owl Crate is, here is an explanation.

Owl Crate is a monthly box that contains a hardcover book, and some bookish goodies. You cannot choose what you will receive, it will be a surprise. Every month there is a theme, and the book and the goodies will be based on it. Also, each month the book will be of a different genre. For example: one month a book will be contemporary, and the next month will be fantasy. Most books are YA. You’ll also get some personalized items from the author, such as a bookmarked sign by her/him, or a letter.

From Owl Crate Website:

Every month we’ll send you:

* A highly anticipated new YA release.

* 3-5 other bookish goodies (jewelry, totes, yummy treats, pins, etc).

* Exclusive items from publishers and authors.

* A note telling you more about the novel and the items included in your crate.

OwlCrateWebsite

A month to month plan is 29.99 USD. The shipping varies, depending on the country.

There are two other types of subscriptions: 3 months or 6 months. In other words, you pay for 3 or 6 month in advance, and you’ll get a box or either 3 or 6 months.

A 3 months plans is $86.98 USD, while the 6 months plan is $167.94 USD. If you choose a prepay plan, the total cost is a little bit cheaper than if you would received a box for 3 or 6 months. The downsize is that you’ll have to pay the full amount at once, instead of paying $30/month.

There is another book monthly box site, Uppercase. Unlike OwCrate, you can personalized you box, and mentioned what kind of books you like. On the other hand, you will get fewer book goodies.

Uppercase:

  • Incredible Brand New, Hardcover Young Adult Book
  • Signed Book or Bookplate Signed by the Author
  • 1-2 High-Quality, Exclusive and Custom Bookish Items
  • Uppercase Reading Experience with Exclusive Content
  • Special Hand-Written and Personalized Note to You

UppercaseWebsite

They have two plans:

Expert plan –  includes everything mentioned above and it’s $23/month.

Exclusive plan – doesn’t include the 1-2 bookish items and it’s $17/month.

And as I said, you also can choose the books’ genre.

Owl Crate and Uppercase are not the only book boxes, but I mentioned these two because they were my top 2.

Both boxes are great, with nice and easy to navigate websites, and they are really fun.

I’ll be honest. Initially I wanted to subscribe to Uppercase, since it is a little bit cheaper. I liked the idea of having signed books or bookplates. I also don’t care that much for the book items. They’re fun, but I like the surprise book more. Therefore, I’ve found Uppercase to be perfect for me . . . until I got to the shipping part. Uppercase is in USA, and I live in Canada. The shipping is $19,99 –  almost the same amount as the box. Now, if you live in USA, the shipping is cheaper. From what I’ve gather, for USA the box+shipping is $29. They also only ship to USA, Canada and Puerto Rico.

Anyway, so the total amount for me, including taxes, would’ve been ~ $45 +/-. Again, this is for Canada.

OlwCrate is $29.99, and the shipping is $10.59 for Canada. So, again, the total cost with taxes, is around $45.

For USA the shipping is $6.99, and the International shipping is $19.99 (the Uppercase’s shipping price for Canada).

In other words, both boxes have a similar price. So in this case I’ve decided to go with OwlCrate, since I get more 3-5 book items instead of 1-2. And both of them include personalized items from the authors.

Personally, I think OwlCrate is a better deal, money wise, for Canadians.


Now, to the actual unboxing.

The box was shipped on Jan.15th, and I got it today. So it arrived in 3 days. Quite fast. A big thumbs up for the shipping time.

This month’s theme was Magic.

The books looks like this:

IMAG1848

And inside:

IMAG1849

On top is the OwlCrate Card. Every month there a different card.

Front and Back:

On the back it says what the box contains.

IMAG1852

IMAG1853

The book goods:

A Pop Figure from Funko: Harry Potter Collections. They’ve sent five different characters. I’ve receive Harry himself. ❤

What can I say, I love the figurine. 😀

Next, there is another Harry Potter theme item: Patronus Lip Balm from Geek Fire Labs.

Next item is a book mark. It was created by Evie Bookish, and it is “a haunting bookmark inspired by The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.” (OwlCrate Card).

Another item created by Evie Bookish. It is an art print inspired by Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass. – I have yet to read this book. I’ve bought it, but…

IMAG1864

And last, but not least, a promotional card. It’s a card with information about a book and a promotional code. I’ll show you only the front, for obvious reasons 😛

IMAG1863

And now, the book and the author’s personalized items.

The book and the items were warped in a plastic package.

The book is called Worlds of Ink and Shadow: A Novel of the Brontë by Lena Coakley. This is the Canadian Cover. The American one is different.

IMAG1867

Back

IMAG1868

Blurb:

IMAG1869

So, it’s a book about the Bronte sister. I love historical novels. 😀

The book sounds interesting, and it’s not very long either. Around 300 pages. I cannot wait to read it and review it.

Inside the book’s package there were also two items personalized by the author.

A Letter

IMAG1872

And a paper doll kit.

I suppose that I’ll have to cut the doll, and dress her up with the dresses and accessories. I and not sure that I’ll do that. I think I’ll keep them as postcards. 😀

And that’s it.

IMAG1878


Overall, I like this month’s items and the book sounds pretty good.

Is it worth $30? Let’s see:

Funko POP Movies:  Harry Potter is CDN$ 18.50 and USD$10.99. (Amazon)

The book, hardcover, is CDN$ 19.99 and USD$17.95 (Amazon)

Patronus Lip Balm is USD$5.96. (Etsy)

[I included the listing prices, not the sale ones or the Prime Amazon prices. The book is now 12.04 on US Amazon, and the Figurine is $9.60]

Based on the listing prices, the total cost is USD$38.56.

With the sales, the cost would be USD$27.6 without shipping and taxes. In Canada there are no sales for the figurines or the book. At least not on Amazon. In Canadiand Dollars, the total cost is CND$47.17 without shipping and taxes.

I think the prices match. At lest for this box. Will see about the next box.


Where you can find the items (direct links):

Harry Potter + other characters figurines

USA | Canada

The Book can be found on Amazon, as well.

USA | Canada | Goodreads

The Balm can be found on Etsy

USA – I think they ship internationally


Thank you for reading.

What do you think about this box? Do you like the content? The book? Do you think it’s worth it?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Let's disscuss!

