Review, Reviews

Book Review: The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder by Rachel McMillan


Hello there! It’s been a while since I posted a review or anything. I was a feeling a little bit down when it comes to blogging. Maybe I’ll go into details in another post.


259138671

Title: The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder
Series: (Herringford and Watts Mysteries #1)
Author: Rachel McMillan
Genre: Historical – Fiction, Mystery, Crime, Romance
Pages: 289
Disclaimer: I received an ARC from NetGalley.

Blurb

In 1910 Toronto, while other bachelor girls perfect their domestic skills and find husbands, two friends perfect their sleuthing skills and find a murderer.

Inspired by their fascination with all things Sherlock Holmes, best friends and flatmates Merinda and Jem launch a consulting detective business. The deaths of young Irish women lead Merinda and Jem deeper into the mire of the city’s underbelly, where the high hopes of those dreaming to make a new life in Canada are met with prejudice and squalor.

While searching for answers, donning disguises, and sneaking around where no proper ladies would ever go, they pair with Jasper Forth, a police constable, and Ray DeLuca, a reporter in whom Jem takes a more than professional interest. Merinda could well be Toronto’s premiere consulting detective, and Jem may just find a way to put her bachelor girlhood behind her forever–if they can stay alive long enough to do so.

Goodreads

My Review

Like the blurb says, the book is about women who play detective in the early 1900s, Toronto. The story is a third person narrative, past tense – my kind of narrative. I don’t like being in the characters’ head; too much useless rambling.

There are three protagonists: Merinda, Jem and Ray DeLuca. Each character has chapters written from their point of view. However, the book is more focused on Jem and Ray.

Although the book is under 300 pages, the pace is medium – slow. Or maybe I wasn’t in the right mood to read the book. I did find the novel interesting – it has nice moments, the writing is good- but at the same time, I could put it down after 2-3 chapters and do something else. If a person sticks with it, it can be read in 1-2 days. It’s quite short.

Believe it or not, I actually liked the romance in this novel. The lovebirds took some time to get to know each other, and their first kiss wasn’t magical, like in most books, it was quite awkward and funny – at least for the readers.

I liked Jem. She is a mix of traditional and modern women. On one hand, she wants a husband and a family, but she also wants to be a detective. The brains before this operation is Merinda, but I think Jem likes to be a detective as well.

I don’t know what to say about Merinda. She’s not a the best friend out there. She is not good at consoling her best friend when she’s hurt -be it physically, or emotionally-, and she appears to be quite self-centered. Or maybe I am judging her too  harshly. Let put it this way: Merinda is a good and interesting fictional character, but I wouldn’t be her friend in real life.

I would’ve like to know more about Jem and Merinda – their backgrounds. I did get some bits of info, but not enough. Same with Ray and Jasper.

The footnotes are an interesting idea, but on Kindle it looks weird, and not under the specific page. Since I’ve read an ARC, it’s a high possibility for this problem to not appear in the published version.

Overall, I enjoyed reading this novel and I think I will read the next book in the series as well. I loved the fact that I was set in Toronto, Ontario – where I live. It’s so much easier to imagine a place when you know the streets, the buildings etc.

I give this novel a rating of 4/5.

Do I recommend it? Yes – to everyone. Also, people who read YA  can read it as well, it’s quite clean.


Let me know what you think of my review/this book in the comments below. Comments are important to me; it shows me that people actually bothered to read what I’ve wrote. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder by Rachel McMillan”

Let's disscuss!

