Review, Reviews, YA Fiction

Book Review| Xodus by K.J. McPike


28483134

Title: Xodus

Series: Astralis

Author: K.J. McPike

Genre: YA, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal

Pages: 389

Format: Kindle

Published: September 19th 2015

Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange for a honest review. I want to thank the author for sending me this book. I also want to apologize for the late review.

Blurb

All Lali Yavari wanted for her sixteenth birthday was for her mom to come back. Instead, she starts flashing between realities and seeing people disappear before her very eyes. Then the unsettling Kai Awana shows up at school, and Lali soon discovers she has inherited the ability to astral project—with a surprising twist. When Kai offers to use his own unique ability to help Lali find her mother in exchange for her help on a misguided mission, she can’t refuse…even if she’s not quite sure she can trust him.

In her thrilling urban fantasy debut, award-winning author K.J. McPike takes us on a ride with “enough tantalizing twists and turns to captivate readers, transforming them into instant fans” (SPR). Don’t miss this whirlwind adventure, where what one girl learns about her mother’s past will make her question everything she thought was true—and just might put her family in even more danger.

1e432-addtogoodreads

A comment –

I started to read this novel in Nov.-Dec. 2015. I couldn’t get into the story back then. However, it had nothing to do with Xodus not being for me – even thou initially I thought that was the case. I’ve been unable to get into reading and reviewing for a while now. I think I just needed a book-break. After I started enjoying reading again, I had no problem getting pulled into Xodus’ world. Same goes for other novels.

My Review

Honestly, at first I thought Xodus will be your average YA – Paranormal novel. You know, something like this:

Girl meets Boy.
Girl is obsessed with Boy because Boy is super hot.
Boy isn’t interested due to some dark secret or personal issue.
Turns out Boy is a werewolf or some other supernatural creature.
Girl and Boy fall in love.
They get together.
The supernatural element is just the backstory that creates drama and problems.
They break up because of some miscommunication or something else in order to create more drama.
They get back together.
The End.

While the above plot is not necessarily bad, since I did enjoy reading books that fallowed that trend, reading something different is like a breath of fresh air.

 Well, Xodus let me down. It is not what I thought it would be.  🙂

For short, I think Xodus is one of the best YA books I’ve read in months. A very good opener to a new series.

As the blurb says, Lali’s mother get up one day and left with no explanation. Therefore, the main plot of the novel is Lali trying to find her beloved mother. On her 16th birthday, her astral projecting power is awaken, a power that becomes instrumental in finding her mother, discovering a new world and a new kind of people, finding out secrets and enemies.

Lali’s mother is from another dimension, another world. They can reproduce with human, so the Astrali people are not a different species. Astralis have all sorts of powers that are passed on to their children, including the ones that have one human parent. People like Lali are called Semmies, because they’re half-Astralis. They have unique powers and apparently they are also stronger than Astralis: teleportation, reading minds, astral projecting, going back in time, seeing the future and so on.

I liked the fact that Lali is not the only one that has special powers. Her brothers and sister also develop interesting powers, since they’re also Semmies; Kai also has a unique and useful power. In other words, all Semmies characters have interesting, useful and unique powers; Lali is not the special snow-flake in this novel.

I also appreciated the fact that Lali worked on developing and  improving her powers; in other words, she is not a lazy character. Also, she puts her family first, which is rare in YA novels.

Xodus a little bit of romance, but it’s not the main plot. It’s more like a small sub-plot, there in the background. The focus is the action, and the world building.

The novel is a relatively fast read. Since this is a 1st person narrative, there are some interior monologues from the protagonists, Lali. Sometimes they can be a little bit boring or annoying for me – some people like being in the protagonist’s head, and they will have no problem with them.

Which brings me to what I didn’t like about this novel. Lali was a little bit naive and didn’t trust her intuition. Kai waltzed into her life out of the blue, and she trusted him way too much, way too soon. Sure, she needed him to develop her power and to find her mother. However, I would’ve like her to be more cautious. And when Kai gave her hints that he’s being dishonest, she should’ve went with her guts – she wasn’t clueless. If I were her, I would’ve spy on him daily and see what he’s up to; especially since Lali can astral-project.

I think I’ve said enough. I don’t want to ruin the book by writing too many spoilers. Personally, I love spoilers, but I know not everyone is like, well, me.

Overall, I enjoyed Xodus and I recommend it to everyone who loves YA novels. It’s entertaining, unique, and it has a little bit of everything.

4-4-2

Let's disscuss!

