Meme, Reviews

Top 5 Wednesday|Oct.5, 2016


Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly challenge which was created by  Lainey from gingereadslainey.  Sam from Thoughts of Tomes is also a moderator. You can check it out on Goodreads.

books-that-took-you-longest-to-finish

These are the books that you had on your nightstand “in progress” for months or years. The books that you took weeks to read because they put you in a slump. Those books that were an uphill battle. These are books you started and actually read, not books you’ve just had on your shelf the longest.

Personally, when I start to lose interested in a book or if I cannot get into it, I stop reading it. I don’t see the point in wasting my time with reading a book that is not for me, when I could read something that I like. I know the topic is about book that I finished, but I don’t have many that took me a long time to read them. As I said, if I’m not into it, I give up. I do give them a couple of tries, and read around 100 pages, but if I don’t get into them, I move the books from progress to d.n.f. I will try to come up with a top 5, since there are always exceptions to the rule.

In no specific order . . .

1. Toward the Sea of Freedom by Sarah Lark

25828510

This book was quite interesting, but after a while it started to get a little bit boring. So, I read the first 3-4 parts quite fast, but after that I put it down. I did manage to finish it, but what I thought it will be a quick read, ended up being a longer one – I started reading it in February, finished it in June. I’m not sure if it was only due to the book, thou. I was in a book slump for a few months…

2. Second Hand Jane by Michelle Vernal

second-hand

Now, this one was a little bit different. I started reading it, and I put it down. I picked it up again, and forced myself to read the first few chapters. After that, the book started to get really interesting, and I didn’t have problems finishing it. In other words, the beginning took a while for me (a couple of weeks), not the rest of the book.

3. Freedom Fries and Cafe Creme

 

13038495

A collection of short stories about love and food. I usually don’t read all the short stories at once. I read one, and pick up something else. Then I go back to the short stories.

4. Vampire World by Rich Douglas

18051912

YA novel about vampires. It is unique – the vampires live on another planet, and a girl from Earth ends up there. Never read a book with vampires that had this spin on it. However, it has some flaws. I started reading it in June, and finished it in August. I had a problem with the ending. I lost interest a little bit.

5. Xodus by K.J. McPike

28483134

I started reading this one in December, 2015. I finished it in May, 2016. I couldn’t get into it at first. This one was on me, thou. I wasn’t in the mood, simply as that. I put it down after a couple of tries, and picked it up again in May. Surprisingly, I didn’t have problems getting into the story, so I finished it. I ended up enjoying it a lot.


So, these are 5 books that I started to read, and took me a while to finish them.

What about you? What books took you the longest to finish? Let me know in the comments, or link me to your own T5W post.

~ Laura

 

Let's disscuss!

