Meme

Top Ten Tuesday|Nov.1, 2016


toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly challenge/meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s challenge is:

Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes _______________ (if your book club likes historical fiction, inspiring stories, YA books, non-fiction, controversial books to debate about, or pick a specific book)

Let’s see if I can come up with 10 books that have one specific genre. I will omit YA books or Romance, because they’re too generic. For example, it can be controversial, but also YA.

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th

Top Ten Historical Novels

1, 2, 3. Herringford and Watts Mysteries Series by Rachel McMillan

123

            This is one of my favorite series of 2016!

For short, this trilogy follows two young ladies, Merinda and Jem, and their detective work in Toronto, ON, Canada. The novels are set in the early 1900s. It deals with feminism, immigrants, human rights, friendship, love. Also, Rachel McMillan is a wonderful writer, and you never get bored. The books are under 300 pages, and their a quick read! The last book is not out yet, but I bet I will enjoy it. There are also a couple of novellas. I haven’t read them yet, but I will!

If you’re curious, you can read my reviews here:

25913867

My Review
✯✯✯✯
3679a-addtogoodreads

turquoise_and_black_divider_by_sugaree33_art-d7btsg2

31549397

My Review
✯✯✯✯✯
3679a-addtogoodreads

turquoise_and_black_divider_by_sugaree33_art-d7btsg2

1-of-3

Expected publication: May 1st 2017


3679a-addtogoodreads

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th

2. Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley

25818163

A book about the Bronte siblings, including their brother. It is history fiction mix with fantasy. It was an interesting read, even though the history was a little bit lacking for me. However, it would be a great novel for people who do not know much or nothing about the Bronte Family.

My Review  ✯✯✯ | 3679a-addtogoodreads

3,4,5. Escape from the Past by Annette Oppenlander

escape-from-the-past

This trilogy follows a 15 years old boy. He loves video games, and while he played a new one, he ended up traveling back in time, around 1400. It is quite interesting, easy to read, fast paced, well written, and quite short ~300 pages. This series would be a great for those who do not know much about Germany, want to read from a guy’s perspective, and are new to the historical fiction genre. I only read the first novel -review coming soon-, but I have the other two as well, and I will finish reading them next month.

3679a-addtogoodreads

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th

6. Regret to Inform You by Derek Jarrett

28192220

A book about England and World War I. It follows different characters – the young men who went to war, but also the people who were waiting for their soldiers to get back. I will post a review soon.

3679a-addtogoodreads

7. Toward the Sea of Freedom by Sarah Lark

25828510

Great novel about four different characters. It is set in the 19th century, Australia and New Zealand. In the beginning the story is also set in Ireland and England. I recommend it. It’s quite thick, but it’s worth it.

My Review  ✯✯✯✯| 3679a-addtogoodreads

8. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

22840421

I haven’t read this one yet, but I will. I already have a hardcover copy and the blurb sounds fascinating. Moreover, I can’t wait to find out more about Lady Jane Grey, and I’m also curious to see how the fiction and history are combined in this novel.

3679a-addtogoodreads

9.  A Sister’s Crusade by Ann Turner

There is no cover yet. Actually, there was one, but I think it was the same with another book, so they will have a new one.

It is about two sisters, set in 12th century. I haven’t finish reading it yet, but so far it’s quite good.

3679a-addtogoodreads

10. Da Vinci’s Tiger by L. M. Elliott

24951755

I haven’t read it yet, but the blurb is quite interesting and I will definitely read it.

3679a-addtogoodreads

tumblr_static_686j9bd9w84kwkw0w4ogc0wwc

I know I included two books that I haven’t read, but I didn’t have 10 historical novels that I can recommend. Besides, I will read these two books, so there 😛

What about you? What are your top 10 books that you would recommend to a book club or a person? Let me know in the comments below, or post the link to your own top 10.

That’s it for today! See you next Tuesday with another top 10.

Laura xoxo

1 thought on “Top Ten Tuesday|Nov.1, 2016”

Let's disscuss!

