Book Review|Do You Hear What I Hear?: A Detective Shelley Caldwell “Hot Christmas” by Patricia Rosemoor


33199105

Do You Hear What I Hear?: A Detective Shelley Caldwell “Hot Christmas”
A Detective Shelley Caldwell story Book 5
Patricia Rosemoor
Kindle, NetGalley

Novella
50 pages
Published November 29th, 2016 by Pronoun
pagedivideranimatedpagedivideranimatedpagedivideranimatedpagedivideranimated

blurb12

The song “Do You Hear What I Hear?” was written as a plea for peace during the Cuban Missile Crisis in the middle of the Cold War with Russia. Now Christmas is around the corner and live-in lovers Detective Shelley Caldwell and Jake DeAtley are in a cold war of their own. Shelley has all wonderful memories of Christmas, while Jake, born of a mother turned vampire while pregnant with him, has none. They’ve come to a compromise that she can decorate “her half” of every room, but there can be no Christmas tree. Then a case of hit-and-run leaves a dead body and a magical Christmas tree. With her woo-woo instincts ablaze, Shelley can’t resist bringing home the tree, heating up the war with Jake. There is more to the tree than either knows. Will it bring them back together or push them farther apart.~Shelley and Jake met in the novel “Hot Case,” deepened their relationship in “Hot Trick,” and appeared in short stories “Hot Corpse” and “Hot Song.” Each case has a different paranormal/urban fantasy bent and villain. And a little much-needed humor.

3679a-addtogoodreads

my-review

I got this novella from NetGalley. Initially, I thought that it was a novella in its own right, especially since lately I’ve been reading a lot of short stories or novellas. As you can see, it’s not.It is my own fault ,though; I wasn’t paying attention. It was still a good read and I managed to understand it, although without the backstory it was a little bit harder to get certain details. 

The story is cute and has some funny moments. It’s mostly about the main characters relationship and solving their differences. There are supernatural creatures, so there is a paranormal element. 

I don’t want to say more because I will give too much away, especially since the novella is so short. 

I will advise you, though, to read the backstory as well. Don’t jump into it. I mean, you can do that and you’ll be able to enjoy it, but you will not get the whole picture. 

I think I will give the novels a try since it seems to be an interesting story overall. 

lauraxo

If you want to follow my reading adventures, as well as finding out about giveaways, review opportunities, new releases and other bookish news/info, follow me on social media. Your support means more than you think. Thank you.

facebooktwitterinstagramgoodreadstumblrbloglovin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review|Do You Hear What I Hear?: A Detective Shelley Caldwell “Hot Christmas” by Patricia Rosemoor

  1. Jasmine says:

    I didn’t think Novellas are available on NetGalley since they are short and not truly a whole book. Even so, I do love to read them because it expands the story further. I like Fairest from Lunar Chronicles. Have you read?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura says:

      Oh, there are novellas and short stories. Books under 100 pages, you just need to look for them.
      I usually do not like novellas as part of a series, but as a genre I do like it. I was looking for an actual novella/short story when I stumbled upon this.

      I haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles, and I don’t think I will. I will read the author’s new series thou. 🙂 Since I have the first book.

      Btw., if you’re looking for a new, fun series, check out Seasons Within – it will come out on 15th. It’s really good 😀 – I’m fan-girling, I know-

      Liked by 1 person

Let's disscuss!

