book tours, Review, Reviews

Book Review & Giveaway|Seasons Within by Lele Iturrioz


seasonswithin2

Seasons Within
Seasons Within #1
Lele Iturrioz
Published December 15th, 2016
Acorn Publishing

eARC via Xpresso Book Tours
Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology
386 pages
heartheartheartheart

Most teenage girls know their name, where they came from, who they are. Not G, a beautiful redhead with unusual markings on her wrist. She gets her name from a silver locket she keeps around her neck, unaware the engraved letter “G” on its front holds the secret to her past.G’s life before the age of six has been a mystery to her. Each night for the last twelve years she’s been haunted by the same nightmare—a war. Horrendous beasts, warriors able to wield the four elements, and a boy who saves her by means of blue fire taunt her memory. But on her eighteenth birthday, G’s life begins to unravel. When she meets her new Chemistry professor, a man with an uncanny resemblance to the boy who saves her, she knows there must be more to her dreams.

It’s dangerous not knowing who you are, what you’re capable of, and what future awaits you. Especially when the darkness that slaughtered your entire world, just found you.

3679a-addtogoodreads

`

my-review

The first thing I want to mention is the cover ! It’s absolutely stunning! The design, the colours . . . gorgeous! It fits the story very well, and it does draw potential readers in. I mean, the cover is the first thing that made me want to read this book. Can’t wait to see the second book’s cover! I hope it will be just as stunning! 

Now, to the actual review! 🙂

plot4

G is an orphan and she has no memories of her past – she doesn’t know her name, where she came from, who are her parents etc. She also doesn’t have any possessions, except a necklace with the letter G – a necklace she cannot take off despite numerous tries.

G lives in an orphanage in a small town. There she met her best friend, Priyam, who’s parents are dead. Pri wasn’t bothered by the fact G was and is a little bit odd. G is very attached to nature – she likes helping animals, protecting flowers, she talks with a big tree. In other words, G seems to have a connection with nature, with the Earth.

G’s peaceful life starts to be turned upside down when Mr. Blau moves into town. Now, when I read the blurb I thought it is a little bit weird that a high school student and a teacher will start something. Luckily, Mr.Blau aka Edan only becomes her teacher so he can keep an eye on her. You see, Edan and G knew each other when they were children, and they’re only 3 years apart.

Most of the plot is about G learning more about her past, discovering who she really is, and the adventures she goes through in order to find out more. Therefore, the novel has a little bit of everything: action, fantasy, romance, some drama.

The plot is fast-paced; it draws you in quite fast. In other words, it’s a fast, pleasant read. The story is written in the 3rd person, with different points of view. The perspectives change during a chapter, unlike other books that have chapters for each perspective. In my opinion, the transition between one voice and another one was done well – I was able to distinguish who the character easily. However, most of the chapters are from G’s point of view, since she’s the main character – it’s her story.

Another thing regarding the plot. The book started really well, and the middle was also interesting. However, towards the end, the plot feels a little bit rushed, mostly due to the fact that the romance takes priority over the action. I’m not saying there shouldn’t be romance. It’s just that there needs to be a balance between the two, especially since this is not a strictly romance series.

I like the fact that the story is based on Greek Mythology. The author did a great job using it and turning into her own story. Now, there are some similarities with other books – I’m referring especially towards the orphan girl is not an ordinary girl type of pattern. However, the story stands on its own.

characters4

I love the characters in this novel, especially since they are so different from one another. Also, the differences make an interesting whole.

G, Priym, Edan, and other mysterious characters are the main reason why I like this book so much. 

I also liked the fact that G’s best friend is part of the adventure as well. Usually, the ‘human’ friends disappear once the main character discovers a new world. Not in this book; Priyam is G’s family, and family sticks together. Moreover, she is funny and smart.

Edan is a mystery, thou. It’s hard to understand the way he reacts, his choices, his rigidity. Don’t get me wrong, I like Edan, I just wished I could’ve learned more about him. I suppose this will happen in the next book.

romance

As I mentioned above, the romance becomes a focal point after a while, and the action takes a back step. It is also confusing – at least to me. I don’t understand why Edan acts the way he does towards G. Is not explained, and it’s not cleared up even after the situation changes. Sure, I have my own theories based on the information I got, but I’m not certain. Edan’s backstory was not revealed, which made it harder for me to get him.

Noah. I didn’t understand the moments between G and Noah. They made a pact, but all they did was meeting and talking about the pact they made. I was expecting Noah to tell G some important information, as he said he would – but nope.

Now, I still enjoyed the romance. I found it cute and it added some funny moments.

I’m curious to see if there will be a love triangle and if yes, then I hope it will be done very well and with purpose.

final-thoughts

Oerall, a great beginning to a new series. I will definitely read the next book in the series – I only hope it will stay the same, and not get dragged out.

To summarize, I’ll make a short list of pros and cons.

Pros

ツ Diverse, interesting characters
ツ Interesting, fast-paced plot
ツ Action
ツ Greek Mythology
ツ Different points of view
ツ Cute romance

Cons

☹ Rushed ending
☹ Romance is a little bit confusing

recommend3

Absolutely! It is a great book and it’s easy to get lost in the story. I think lovers of YA Fantasy will love it the most, as well as those who like romance.

lauraxo

pagedivider4

author-bio

Major geek by day, hermit writer by night! Love books, sugar gliders and everything that comes in a delicious taco.

I’m the author of the YA fantasy series, Seasons Within

I spend my time writing, planning on writing, reading, drinking coffee like there was no tomorrow, MMA and chilling with my friends and loved ones.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

`

GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win a Signed Copy + Character’s handmade necklace !

Click here.

XBTBanner1

6 thoughts on “Book Review & Giveaway|Seasons Within by Lele Iturrioz”

  1. Thanks a lot for the amazing review Laura! I’m glad you liked it.
    Your blog is adorable and thank you for supporting authors 🙂

     btw… love Canada! (next book G goes to Penticton)
    

    Liked by 1 person

Let's disscuss!

