book tours, Reviews

Blog Tour & Giveaway| The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey


thebrokenone

The Broken One
by Christine H. Bailey
Published March 14th, 2016
by Smashwords Edition
Young Adult, Contemporary
226 pages
heartheartheartheart

Sixteen-year-old Farris is picking up the pieces after the untimely death of her best friend. But even one year later, she can’t seem to find “normal” again—not until Lane Evans pops back into her life and pushes her to face reality. When he offers her the chance to find the truth, Farris fears what will surface. Is it too much too soon or just what she needs to move forward?

add-to-goodreads-button3

my-review

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review, as part of the Book Blog organized by Xpresso Book Tours.*

The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey is a contemporary young adult novel. It is quite short, and it can be read in one sitting. The book is also fast-paced, and I think it would be perfect for getting out of a reading slump.

Now, more details about the novel…

plot

The novel is about Farris and her life. Since her best friend died, Farris only existed, going through the motions and that’s about it. She pushed away her friends, her father, she broke up with her boyfriend. So, the novel focuses on her recovery, her acceptance and moving on. 

Now, when I first read the blurb, I thought Farris will find out what exactly happened with her best friend – basically. Farris playing detective a little bit. However, the book it’s not about this at all. Basically, we read how Farris manages to get her life back and starts living again. It’s not bad, just different than what I expected. 

I would’ve like to find out more about her best friend’s death. Not saying that the novel’s main plot should’ve been different, rather I would’ve like to know more details, at least towards the end. 

characters

Farris – the main character and the only point of view. Since the death of her best friend, Farris went through an ordeal, as it was expected. She mourned in her own way – she closed herself up, pushed people away, run away from reality. 

It was interesting to read about her ups and downs, and how she manages to climb out of the whole she hid herself in. I also liked the relationship between Farris, Lucy and Henry – they were really cute and nice. 

I’m not sure I liked Farris’s dad. He is a good parent and all that, but I don’t think it was appropriate for him to parade dozens of women in front of Farris. I get it, he was mourning his wife, but it wasn’t healthy for Farris. 

romance

I am not the biggest fan of romance novels. It is hard for me to find a book that intrigues me when it comes to romance. That’s why I usually read books that have romance as a subplot. 

Farris broke up with her boyfriend, Lane, after the best friend died. One year later, somehow they still have feelings for each other. I’m not saying it’s not possible, but I wasn’t a big fan of the romance in this novel. I think they needed more time to heal their wounds and talk thinks through. I also don’t get why Farris had to get involved with Paul when it was clear from the start she didn’t like him that way. Even from the beginning, it was obvious he liked her, while Farris didn’t. And did Jun think of all this ?

Anyway, the romance is not the main plot, so it didn’t bother me that much. 

However, don’t take my word for it. Other people might like this kind of romance, especially YA ones.

final-thoughts

Overall, I liked this novel, even though it wasn’t what I expected. I find it to a fast, interesting read. I would’ve liked more development between Farris and Lane, as I feel their reconnection was a bit rushed. Other than that, I really enjoyed this book. 

recommend

Yes, I do recommend this novel. Lovers of YA contemporary will like it, especially if they like stories that deal with grief, depression, and mourning. 

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th

lauraxo

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th


Author Bio
Christine H. Bailey teaches creative writing and written composition at a private university in west Tennessee. Before teaching English, Christine worked as a journalist, a marketing/public relations writer, and a freelance editor. To learn more about the author and her work, visit her website at http://www.cibailey.com.

Website / Facebook / Twitter

 

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th

GIVEAWAY!

Enter to win 2 x $5 Amazon gift cards.

CLICK HERE

1305427767825968289fancy-divider-th

XBTBanner1

1 thought on “Blog Tour & Giveaway| The Broken One by Christine H. Bailey”

Let's disscuss!

